Crochet flowers

In the spirit of willing on the Spring/Summer, I decided to get on with the flower making. It’s March 29th and it is -10c outside. So annoying. I want to get out my Birkenstocks! I decided to try some different flowers and embellish finished ones. Here they are!

2013-03-29 00.28.00

Pattern: (I made this up) chain 9, make a loop. Chain 4, then do 2 treble crochets (US), then chain 4 and slip stitch into the loop. repeat x5.

Change colour, pick a petal, chain 3, double crochet (US) into each gap from the previous stitches. Repeat on each petal.

Now for the outline, chain 7 into the loop. Bring it up to the top of a petal and then double crochet into the first gap. Then treble crochet into the next two and then a double crochet for the last gap. Chain 7 and slip stitch into the loop. Repeat x5. This creates a huge flower. Each petal is about an inch long.

2013-03-29 00.57.44 2013-03-29 00.57.58

 

The smaller flowers are created by chaining 7 and making a loop. Chain 3, double crochet x2 and then chain 2 back into the loop. Repeat x5. I then make it larger by crocheting in another colour. I chain 4 into the loop and then double crochet into the petal and chain 4 back down into the loop. Repeat x5 (look at the flower with the silver heart). To make your petals fatter, do 2 double crochet stitches into one gap (look at the pink flower with aqua edging/heart centre above).

The last flower is made using clusters. I think I chained 7 into a loop and then did a treble cluster leaving 3 or 4 chain stitches between each one (at the top of the flower). Then I single crocheted in pink and then treble crocheted with 2 stitches in each gap.

9 thoughts on “Crochet flowers

      • I saw, a long time ago on Pinterest, a top made basically of strips of crochet, then flowers, then more crochet… You know? I have this dream of making something like it, but have no idea about pattern. I might just have to wing it, but these little flowers are *just* what I was looking for. So thank you! πŸ™‚

      • Oooooooh! That sounds amazing! You could totally do that with 2 or 3 colours or many! Sounds fab! Thank you! If you make it, let me know. I can have a nosy then. πŸ™‚ xxx

Leave a Reply

